Soil Fertilisers/improvers.

Food, Nutrition and Agriculture
Brambles

Soil Fertilisers/improvers.

Post by Brambles »

I'm far from being a doomsday merchant, but it doesn't stop me thinking 'what if' every now and then.
Like many of you, no doubt, at the moment I buy in a load of good old farmyard manure and use Growmore. I got to thinking what would I do if I had no access to manure or Growmore or compost for starting seeds off.

If, like me you have an allotment or large garden but no farm animals, what would you do to keep your soil in good health and productive, and what natural feeds could you use.

I'll start the ball rolling.

Leaf mold.
Grass cuttings
Nettle Tea
Comfrey Tea
Homemade compost, although to date, I have never made anything that resembles what Monty Don digs out of his bin!
Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass, it's about learning to dance in the rain~anon
Lanky Yankee

Re: Soil Fertilisers/improvers.

Post by Lanky Yankee »

I'm still new to the allotment and trying to figure stuff out. One thing I would consider about soil is getting a bunch of worms and making a worm bed. You could collect the dropping and if I remember right it makes for good soil. I read something about it years ago. Guess I should look into it again :D
CynicalSurvival

Post by CynicalSurvival »

I've never used chicken manure but I've heard it's good and obviously keeping chickens is a smaller undertaking than larger farm animals. Also rabbit droppings.

I live near the coast and for hundreds of years here people have gathered up seaweed in winter. It is a good mulch, can be added to compost, and can also be 'stewed' in water (I've heard that kelp is especially good).

I have seen a recipe of mixed herbs/plants for a 'weed tea' fertiliser but I can't remember it off the top of my head - will look it up.