bug out location

Homes and Retreats
Big Bear

bug out location

Post by Big Bear »

Hello people.

Is there a rule of thumb as too how far away your bug out location should be.

How many routes to and from should you ideally have.

Thanks in advance
Do not rely on the government for anything, especially your survival
17cumbrianprepper

Re: bug out location

Post by 17cumbrianprepper »

hey buddy im new to the prepping game but imo it should be possible to make it there in under 1 hour and possible to get there by differant means off transport if possible such as foot bike car boat just a few ideas :) hope it helps
ForgeCorvus

Post by ForgeCorvus »

Short answer:
No.

Long answer:
You really should have the right to be any place you're planning on bugging out to, in an ideal world you should have control over that location as well.
You should be able to get your entire bug-out load to that place in one trip.
You should have as many practical alternative routes to get there as possible.
Thing is, in the same way that you never know what disaster you'll be facing, you'll never know how far is too far..... Or how far is not far enough.
jennyjj01 wrote:"I'm not in the least bit worried because I'm prepared: Are you?"
Londonpreppy wrote: At its core all prepping is, is making sure you're not down to your last sheet of loo roll when you really need a poo.
"All Things Strive" Gd Tak 'Gar
Big Bear

Post by Big Bear »

Cheers guys.

Have a few possible locations earmarked.

Will do a few dry runs to see which is the most suitable.

Will obviously pick the most secure location with the most access.

Thanks again
Do not rely on the government for anything, especially your survival
QUAID

Post by QUAID »

It doesnt really matter how far your bug out location is..... as long as:

you can get there
It is out of the 'threat zone' that made you bug out of youre primary property in the first place
you can sustain yourself until you arrive at your BOB
Hamradioop